The Kavoussi Family Outstanding Teacher Award


This scholarship is offered by the American Society for Reproductive Medicine (ASRM). The ASRM is a nationally and internationally recognized leader for multidisciplinary information, education, advocacy and standards in the field of reproductive medicine. The ASRM is a non-profit organization whose members must demonstrate the high ethical principles of the medical profession, evidence an interest in infertility, reproductive medicine and biology, and adhere to the objectives of the Society.

The Kavoussi Family Outstanding Teacher Award is open to ASRM members who have been recognized as an outstanding educator in undergraduate, graduate, postgraduate, professional, or patient education in the area of basic and/or clinical reproductive biology and medicine. The award is made possible through an educational endowment from members of the Kavoussi family, including Dr. Parviz Kavoussi from Austin Center for Vasectomy and Vasectomy Reversal.

The recipient will be recognized as the recipient of the Kavoussi Family Outstanding Teacher Award by presentation of a plaque at the ASRM Scientific Congress & Expo annually. In addition, the recipient will be provided with free registration for the Scientific Congress, roundtrip economy coach airfare, and accommodation in the ASRM hotel room, meals, and ground transportation.

Nominations should be submitted to Andrew R. La Barbera, Ph.D., ASRM Chief Scientific Officer, at Submissions are due before June 1, 2018. Submissions must include the following:

  • Letter of nomination
  • Nominee’s curriculum vitae
  • Bibliography and summary of educational accomplishments
  • Awards in the field of reproductive medicine and biology
  • Letters of support from at least 2 additional members of the ASRM

Selection of the Award recipient is made by the Executive Committee of the ASRM and is based primarily on the candidate’s record of achievement and recognition as an outstanding teacher and mentor at the institutional, local, regional, national or international level. The recipient will be notified by August 1, 2018.

This endowment is one of the highest recognitions of an individual’s sustained contributions in the fields of professional, scientific and/or patient education.

Learn more at the American Society for Reproductive Medicine.